Skip to content
Subscribe
Ev Chargers

ChargePoint or Grasside? Ev Chargers Compared in 2026

Compare ChargePoint and Grasside Level 2 EV chargers by published specs. We analyze cable length, connector type, and voltage to help you choose the best home charging station.

We score every product on its specifications, its current price and what owners report after living with it. We may earn a commission from links on this page.

ChargePoint or Grasside? Ev Chargers Compared in 2026

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

The ChargePoint vs grasside ev charger debate centers on two Level 2 stations for home use. Both units plug into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and use the standard J1772 connector for most electric vehicles. They share a 240V voltage requirement and black finishes. The main difference lies in their approach to power and control. ChargePoint emphasizes network integration and app-based management, while Grasside focuses on hardware durability, cable length, and flexible current settings via a physical interface or app.

Power Output

Up to 45 mi/hr

9.6kW

Cable Length

not listed

25 ft

Control Features

App control, smart home integration

App, RFID card, Plug-and-Charge, stepless current adjustment

Dimensions

11.2 x 7.06 x 7.07 inches

not listed

Weight

13.8 pounds

not listed

Certifications

UL-certified

ETL/UL listed, IP65 waterproof, FCC compliant

Choose the first if

  • You want access to a large public charging network alongside home use.
  • You prefer a unit with known physical dimensions and weight for installation planning.
  • You rely on the ChargePoint mobile app for scheduling and smart home connectivity.

Choose the second if

  • You need a longer 25-foot cable to reach vehicles parked further from the outlet.
  • You want stepless current adjustment between 10–40A via the app or physical buttons.
  • You require RFID card authentication or Plug-and-Charge functionality for access control.

Verdict

Choose the ChargePoint HomeFlex if you value brand ecosystem integration and precise hardware specifications. Select the Grasside unit if you prioritize a longer cable, flexible current settings, and multi-method authentication options. Both are solid Level 2 chargers for residential garages.

ChargePoint vs Grasside EV Chargers Compared

Cable Length

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside includes a 25-foot cable with its Level 2 EV Charger, giving you significant reach inside a garage or driveway. This extra length helps when your vehicle is parked further from the wall outlet. ChargePoint HomeFlex does not list a specific cable length in its published specifications. While the ChargePoint unit is hardwired or plug-in, the absence of a stated cable length means you cannot verify if it matches the Grasside reach. For many home setups, the 25-foot Grasside cable offers a clear advantage in convenience and flexibility.

Amperage Control

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside allows you to adjust the charging current using stepless control from 10 to 40 amperes via its mobile app. You can also set fixed levels of 16, 24, 32, or 40 amperes using the physical screen buttons on the unit. ChargePoint HomeFlex requires a 40A or 50A circuit but does not specify adjustable amperage settings in its key specs or features. This means you likely cannot fine-tune the charge rate on the ChargePoint unit without external hardware. The Grasside app control gives you precise management over charging speed.

Network Access

Edge: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2

ChargePoint offers access to its vast network of over 274,000 stations across North America and Europe, plus 565,000 roaming partner stations. This feature extends beyond your home, allowing you to find public charging locations while traveling. The Grasside charger is designed for home use and does not mention any public network access or roaming partners. If you frequently travel and want to use the same account for public stations, ChargePoint provides a significant ecosystem advantage. For pure home charging, this network is irrelevant.

Authentication Methods

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside supports multiple authentication methods, including Plug-and-Charge mode, RFID card authentication, and Smart APP control. This flexibility allows you to restrict access to the charger using an RFID card for security or use the app for daily convenience. ChargePoint HomeFlex features app control but does not list RFID or physical card authentication options in its specifications. If you need to prevent unauthorized use by neighbors or family members, the Grasside RFID capability offers a practical security layer that ChargePoint lacks.

Build Quality

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside features a metal case and a heavy-duty rubberized charging handle designed for durability and comfortable grip. It is rated IP65 waterproof, making it suitable for indoor and outdoor installations in various weather conditions. ChargePoint is UL-certified and includes a cold-resistant cable, but it does not specify the casing material or an IP rating in the provided data. The Grasside metal build and explicit waterproof rating provide more verifiable details about its physical resilience compared to the unspecified construction of the ChargePoint unit.

Which EV Charger Fits Your Needs

Users wanting maximum cable reach

Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside includes a 25-foot cable, offering significant flexibility for parking further from the wall. ChargePoint HomeFlex comes in a 1-pack with unspecified cable length in the provided data. If your garage layout requires extra reach, the Grasside cable length is a clear practical advantage for daily convenience.

Drivers valuing network access

Our pick: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2

ChargePoint offers access to a vast network of over 274,000 stations across North America and Europe. This connectivity extends beyond home charging, providing roaming partner stations for travel. Grasside does not mention any public charging network integration. If you frequently travel, the ChargePoint network adds utility outside your driveway.

Buyers seeking smart current control

Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside allows stepless current adjustment from 10 to 40 amps via its app, plus fixed steps via buttons. ChargePoint data lists 40A or 50A circuit requirements but does not specify granular current control features. If you want precise control over charging speed to manage electricity usage, Grasside offers more detailed configuration options.

Those prioritizing build durability

Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside features a metal case and heavy-duty rubberized handle designed for wear resistance. ChargePoint data highlights cold-resistant cable and UL certification but does not specify the housing material. If you prefer a solid metal enclosure for long-term outdoor or garage use, the Grasside build materials provide a tangible durability benefit.

1
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2

ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2

Best for: Non-Tesla EV owners with NEMA 14-50 outlets

Connector Type
J1772
Charging Level
Level 2
Power Plug
NEMA 14-50
Voltage
240V
Intended Use
Home
Dimensions
11.2 × 7.06 × 7.07 inches

The ChargePoint HomeFlex is a Level 2 EV charger designed for home use. It delivers up to 45 miles of range per hour using a 240V connection. The unit plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and uses a J1772 connector. It measures 11.2 inches long and weighs 13.8 pounds. This charger suits drivers who need reliable, fast charging for non-Tesla electric vehicles at home.

Pros
  • Delivers up to 45 miles of range per hour
  • Plugs directly into a NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • Compatible with all non-Tesla EVs via J1772 connector
  • UL-certified for safe indoor or outdoor installation
Cons
  • Requires a 40A or 50A circuit for operation
  • Weighs 13.8 pounds, making it heavier than some alternatives
  • Requires an adapter for Tesla EVs
Good fit if
  • You have a NEMA 14-50 outlet available
  • You drive a non-Tesla electric vehicle
  • You want a UL-certified charger for home use
Skip if
  • You drive a Tesla and do not want to use an adapter
  • You only have a 120V outlet available
  • You prefer a hardwired installation over a plug-in model

Verdict: The ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger fits non-Tesla owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want fast, reliable charging. It delivers 45 miles of range per hour and is built for safe home use.

2
Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Best for: outdoor use with smart scheduling

Connector Type
J1772
Charging Level
Level 2
Amperage
40A
Power Output
9.6kW
Power Plug
NEMA 14-50
Cable Length
25FT

The Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger delivers 9.6kW of power through a 25-foot J1772 cable. It plugs into a NEMA 14-50 outlet and includes a metal case with IP65 weather resistance for indoor or outdoor use. You can adjust current via a smartphone app or physical buttons. This unit suits drivers needing flexible scheduling and secure access through RFID or app controls.

Pros
  • 40A amperage provides 9.6kW charging speed
  • 25-foot cable offers extended reach
  • IP65 waterproof rating for outdoor use
  • Smart app control for scheduling and monitoring
  • Metal case ensures durable build quality
Cons
  • Requires a dedicated 50A circuit breaker for safe operation
  • App control is limited to 2.4GHz WiFi networks only
  • Tesla vehicles need a separate J1772 adapter
Good fit if
  • You need a 25-foot cable to reach your vehicle
  • You want to schedule charging during off-peak hours
  • You require a weather-resistant charger for outdoor installation
Skip if
  • You only have 120V outlets available
  • You need 5GHz WiFi for app connectivity
  • You drive a Tesla and do not want to carry an adapter

Verdict: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger fits homeowners who want a durable, weather-ready charger with smart scheduling features. It is ideal for those with 240V outlets who value long cable reach and app-based control.

Specifications side by side

SpecChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Connector TypeJ1772J1772
Charging LevelLevel 2Level 2
Amperage–40A
Power Output–9.6kW
Power PlugNEMA 14-50NEMA 14-50
Voltage240V–
Cable Length–25FT
Connectivity–2.4GHz WiFi
Intended UseHome–
IP Rating–IP65
Dimensions11.2 × 7.06 × 7.07 inches–
Weight13.8 pounds–
Size1 Pack40
ColorBlackBlack
ModelCPH50-NEMA14-50-L23NECS-ACW-9.6-1-US-3028 Button Version

Frequently asked questions

Which EV charger is better for non-Tesla owners?

The ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 is designed specifically for non-Tesla owners. It uses the standard J1772 connector, which fits most electric vehicles except Teslas. This unit delivers 45 miles of range per hour. It is a solid choice if you want a reliable, fast-charging solution for your home garage.

Does Grasside have smart scheduling features?

Yes, the Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger includes smart scheduling features. You can control charging times through an app. This helps you manage energy usage during off-peak hours. The unit also offers weather-ready durability, making it suitable for outdoor installation where exposure to elements is a concern.

How long is the Grasside EV charger cable?

The Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger comes with a 25-foot cable. This length provides significant reach for vehicles parked further from the wall outlet. The extra cable allows for more flexible parking arrangements in your garage or driveway without needing an extension cord or moving the vehicle.

What plug type do these chargers use?

Both the ChargePoint HomeFlex and the Grasside 40A use a NEMA 14-50 plug. This is a common 240V outlet found in many homes. You do not need a special hardwired installation if you already have this outlet. It simplifies setup for most homeowners who want to charge their EVs quickly.

Is the ChargePoint HomeFlex good for home use?

The ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 is built for safe home use. It is compact, measuring 11.2 inches in length. The unit weighs 13.8 pounds, making it manageable for installation. It delivers 45 miles of range per hour, ensuring your vehicle charges efficiently while parked overnight or during the day at home.

Which charger is better for outdoor installation?

The Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger is ideal for outdoor use. It is described as weather-ready, meaning it can withstand outdoor conditions. The durable build and app-based control allow you to monitor charging status from inside. This makes it a practical choice for driveway or outdoor garage setups.

See also

EE

Written by

EvenRate Editorial Team

We compare portable power stations using manufacturer specifications and Amazon product data.

See all reviews by EvenRate Editorial Team

Our newsletter

The good stuff, once a week

New reviews, honest price checks, and the things we tell our own families to buy.