As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
The ChargePoint vs EVIQO ev charger comparison focuses on two Level 2 home units. Both charge non-Tesla EVs via J1772 connectors at 240V. They differ in installation and power delivery. ChargePoint uses a NEMA 14-50 plug for flexible setup, while EVIQO requires hardwiring for higher amperage. You also get different cable lengths and app features. Read on to see which fits your garage.
Power Plug
NEMA 14-50
Hardwired
Amperage
40A or 50A circuit dependent
48A (up to 50A with DIP switches)
Cable Length
Cold-resistant cable (length not listed)
25 ft
Dimensions
11.2 x 7.06 x 7.07 inches
4 x 9.45 x 9.45 inches
Warranty
Not listed
3 years
Choose the first if
- You prefer a plug-in installation that avoids hardwiring.
- You want access to a large public charging network.
- You need a compact unit that fits standard outlets.
Choose the second if
- You want a longer 25-foot cable for garage reach.
- You need a weatherproof IP66 rated enclosure.
- You value a included glow-in-the-dark holster.
Verdict
Choose the ChargePoint HomeFlex if you want plug-in flexibility and access to a vast public network. Pick the EVIQO if you need a longer cable, a dedicated hardwired setup, and a longer warranty. Both deliver reliable Level 2 charging for non-Tesla vehicles.
ChargePoint vs EVIQO Charger Specs
Installation flexibility
Edge: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2
You can choose how to connect these chargers to your home power. The ChargePoint HomeFlex comes with a NEMA 14-50 plug, allowing you to insert it into a standard dryer-style outlet if you have one. This offers some flexibility if you already have that receptacle installed. In contrast, the EVIQO charger is hardwired only. This means a licensed electrician must connect it directly to your electrical panel during installation. While hardwiring is more permanent and often preferred for permanent home installations, it does not offer the plug-and-play option that ChargePoint provides for those with compatible outlets.
Amperage and speed
Edge: EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger
Power delivery differs significantly between these two units. The EVIQO charger is rated for 48 amps on a dedicated 60-amp circuit, which can deliver up to 50 miles of range per hour for many vehicles. It also allows you to unlock 50 amps with DIP switches on a 70-amp circuit. The ChargePoint HomeFlex is designed for a 40-amp or 50-amp circuit. While the exact output amperage for the ChargePoint is not explicitly listed in the specs, it is marketed as delivering up to 45 miles per hour. The EVIQO’s higher baseline amperage generally supports faster charging speeds for compatible vehicles.
Cable length
Edge: EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger
The length of the charging cable affects how easily you can park and connect your vehicle. The EVIQO charger includes a 25-foot cable, which is notably long for a home charger. This extra length helps if your parking spot is far from the charging unit or if you need to reach across a garage. The ChargePoint HomeFlex data does not specify a cable length. It is typically sold with a standard cable, but without explicit data, we cannot confirm if it matches the 25-foot reach of the EVIQO. For tight spaces or distant ports, the EVIQO’s stated length is a clear advantage.
Weather resistance
Edge: EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger
Both units are built for outdoor use, but their certifications differ. The EVIQO charger features an IP66 and NEMA 4 rating, meaning it is fully sealed against rain, snow, heat, and dust. This high level of protection makes it suitable for harsh outdoor environments. The ChargePoint HomeFlex is described as durable and cold-resistant, with a UL certification for safe home charging indoors or outdoors. However, the specific IP or NEMA weatherproofing ratings are not provided in the data. The EVIQO’s explicit IP66 rating offers more detailed assurance of weather resistance.
App and connectivity
Edge: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2
Smart features are available for both chargers via mobile applications. The ChargePoint app allows you to control charging, manage reminders, and access data. It also connects to the ChargePoint network, which includes hundreds of thousands of public stations. The EVIQO app lets you start and stop charging, set speed limits between 6 and 48 amps, and track energy usage. It also receives automatic over-the-air updates. Both offer robust app control, but ChargePoint’s advantage lies in its extensive public network access, while EVIQO focuses on detailed home energy tracking and remote speed adjustment.
Which EV Charger suits your needs
Drivers wanting plug-in flexibility
Our pick: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2
The ChargePoint HomeFlex uses a NEMA 14-50 plug, letting you insert it into a standard 240V outlet. This avoids hardwiring. It delivers up to 45 miles of range per hour. The unit weighs 13.8 pounds and measures 11.2 inches long. You can install it indoors or outdoors. It requires a 40A or 50A circuit for operation.
Users needing a long cable
Our pick: EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger
The EVIQO includes a 25-foot cable, reaching easily across garages. It hardwires to a 60A circuit for 48A charging. You can adjust amperage via DIP switches. The unit measures 9.45 inches square and weighs less than ChargePoint. It features a glow-in-the-dark holster for the connector. The sealed IP66 housing protects against weather and dust.
Buyers wanting advanced app control
Our pick: EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger
The EVIQO app lets you set charging speed from 6 to 48 amps. It tracks energy use and offers remote updates. The built-in antenna maintains connectivity in basements. You can schedule off-peak charging to save energy. The charger receives automatic over-the-air updates. It includes a side reset button for quick restarts without opening the unit.
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2
Best for: non-Tesla EV owners with NEMA 14-50 outlets
- Connector Type
- J1772
- Charging Level
- Level 2
- Power Plug
- NEMA 14-50
- Voltage
- 240V
- Intended Use
- Home
- Dimensions
- 11.2 × 7.06 × 7.07 inches
This Level 2 EV charger delivers up to 45 miles of range per hour using a 240V connection. It plugs into a standard NEMA 14-50 outlet and uses a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla electric vehicles. The unit weighs 13.8 pounds and measures 11.2 inches in length. You can control it via the ChargePoint Mobile App for smart scheduling and monitoring. It is built for home use and supports indoor or outdoor installation.
- Delivers up to 45 miles of range per hour
- Plugs into a NEMA 14-50 receptacle on a 40A or 50A circuit
- Includes a cold-resistant cable for outdoor durability
- UL-certified for safe home charging
- Compatible with the ChargePoint Mobile App for smart control
- Requires an adapter for Tesla vehicles due to the J1772 connector
- Weighs 13.8 pounds, which is bulkier than some hardwired alternatives
- Limited to 45A output, whereas the EVIQO competitor offers 48A
- You own a non-Tesla EV with a J1772 port
- You have a NEMA 14-50 outlet available for installation
- You want to manage charging schedules via a mobile app
- You drive a Tesla and prefer a native connector without adapters
- You need the highest possible amperage available at 48A
- You prefer a hardwired installation over a plug-in unit
Verdict: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger provides reliable 240V charging for non-Tesla EVs with app-based control. It is best for homeowners with NEMA 14-50 outlets who prioritize smart features over maximum amperage.
EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger
Best for: fast charging with app control
- Connector Type
- J1772
- Charging Level
- Level 2
- Amperage
- 48 A
- Power Plug
- Hardwired
- Voltage
- 240V
- Cable Length
- 25 ft
The EVIQO 48A Level 2 charger delivers up to 50 mph of range using a hardwired 240V connection. It features a 25 ft J1772 cable and Wi-Fi app control for scheduling and speed adjustments. This unit suits drivers who want high output and smart features but can arrange professional installation for a permanent wall mount.
- 48A output on a 60A circuit for fast charging
- 25 ft J1772 cable reaches across garages
- Wi-Fi app control for scheduling and monitoring
- IP66 weatherproof housing for outdoor use
- Requires hardwired installation by a licensed electrician
- Larger 9.45-inch square housing than plug-in models
- You want 48A charging speed for overnight top-ups
- You need a 25 ft cable for garage parking
- You can hire an electrician for hardwired setup
- You prefer a simple NEMA plug without wiring
- You want a smaller unit for tight spaces
- You cannot access a dedicated 60A circuit
Verdict: EVIQO 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger fits drivers who prioritize high amperage and smart app control over plug-and-play convenience. It is ideal for homeowners ready to invest in professional installation for faster, reliable charging.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 | EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger |
|---|---|---|
| Connector Type | J1772 | J1772 |
| Charging Level | Level 2 | Level 2 |
| Amperage | – | 48 A |
| Power Plug | NEMA 14-50 | Hardwired |
| Voltage | 240V | 240V |
| Cable Length | – | 25 ft |
| Intended Use | Home | Outdoor |
| Connectivity | – | Wi-Fi |
| Dimensions | 11.2 × 7.06 × 7.07 inches | 4 × 9.45 × 9.45 inches |
| Weight | 13.8 pounds | – |
| Size | 1 Pack | 48 |
| Color | Black | Black |
| Model | CPH50-NEMA14-50-L23 | EVIPOWER |
Frequently asked questions
Which EV charger is best for non-Tesla owners with NEMA 14-50 outlets?
The ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 is the top choice for this setup. It uses a NEMA 14-50 plug, allowing direct connection to standard dryer-style outlets without hardwiring. This unit delivers reliable 240V charging for non-Tesla EVs. It weighs 13.8 pounds and includes app-based control for managing your sessions.
Does the EVIQO charger require professional installation?
Yes, the EVIQO 48A Level 2 EV Charger requires hardwiring. It does not include a plug, so you must connect it directly to your home electrical system. This setup supports higher amperage for faster charging but demands professional installation to ensure safety and compliance with local electrical codes.
How does the cable length compare between the two chargers?
The EVIQO charger features a 25-foot cable, providing significant reach for your vehicle. The ChargePoint HomeFlex data does not specify a cable length, focusing instead on its NEMA 14-50 plug flexibility. You should verify the ChargePoint cable length in the full product specifications if reach is a primary concern.
Can I control both chargers using a smartphone app?
Yes, both units offer smart app control. The ChargePoint HomeFlex allows you to manage charging via an app. The EVIQO also includes Wi-Fi connectivity for remote monitoring and control. This feature lets you schedule sessions or check status from your phone, regardless of which model you choose.
Which charger is better for outdoor use?
The EVIQO is explicitly rated for outdoor use. It is designed to withstand exterior conditions while delivering 48A of power. The ChargePoint HomeFlex is intended for home use, which typically includes garages or covered areas. Ensure your installation location matches the intended use rating for each device.
What connector type do these chargers use?
Both the ChargePoint HomeFlex and the EVIQO 48A use the J1772 connector. This is the standard connector for most non-Tesla electric vehicles. You do not need an adapter for standard EV charging. The J1772 plug ensures compatibility with a wide range of electric cars on the market.
How do the physical dimensions differ between the two models?
The ChargePoint HomeFlex measures 7.06 inches wide, 7.07 inches high, and 11.2 inches long. The EVIQO is wider at 9.45 inches square but thinner at 4 inches long. These size differences may affect where you can mount the unit. Consider your wall space when deciding between the two forms.




