As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between the lectron vs grasside ev charger depends on your specific charging needs. Both units deliver 40 amps and 9.6 kW of power via a NEMA 14-50 plug for Level 2 charging. They share J1772 connectors and ETL safety certifications. The main difference lies in cable length and smart features. Lectron offers a 16-foot cable with basic operation. Grasside provides a 25-foot cable and includes Wi-Fi app control for scheduling and current adjustment.
Cable Length
16 ft
25 ft
Smart Control
Not listed
Wi-Fi APP with scheduling and stepless current adjustment
Authentication
Plug-and-charge
Plug-and-charge, RFID card, and APP control
Build Material
Not listed
Metal case with rubberized handle
Choose the first if
- You prefer a simpler device without smart connectivity requirements
- Your charging spot is close to the outlet and you do not need extra cable reach
- You want a unit that relies on standard plug-and-charge operation
Choose the second if
- You need a longer cable to reach vehicles parked further from the outlet
- You want to schedule charging times or adjust amperage via a mobile app
- You require RFID card access to restrict who can use the charger
Verdict
Grasside is the better choice if you value smart scheduling, longer reach, and access control. Lectron is suitable for users who prefer a straightforward, non-connected charging experience. Both provide identical power output for standard J1772 vehicles.
Grasside vs Lectron EV Charger Specs
Cable Length
Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
The Grasside charger includes a 25-foot cable, giving you significantly more reach than the Lectron unit, which comes with a 16-foot cable. This extra length matters if your parking spot is far from your outlet. You will not need to drag the heavy connector across a driveway with the Grasside. The Lectron cable is sufficient for tight garage spaces, but the Grasside offers better flexibility for outdoor charging scenarios where distance is a factor. Longer cables reduce the need to position your vehicle precisely next to the wall.
Smart Control
Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Grasside offers a dedicated mobile app for WiFi control, allowing you to adjust charging current from 10 to 40 amps, schedule sessions, and monitor history. Lectron does not list any app or smart connectivity features in its specifications. If you want to set charging windows to avoid peak electricity rates or track energy usage from your phone, Grasside is the only option here. Lectron relies on physical buttons or plug-and-play operation without digital management. For tech-focused users, the app capability is a clear advantage.
Build Quality
Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Grasside features a metal case and a heavy-duty rubberized charging handle designed for durability and a secure grip. Lectron does not specify the material of its housing in the provided data, listing only the color black. The metal construction of the Grasside unit suggests better resistance to impacts and weather wear over time. The rubberized handle also adds comfort and prevents slipping in wet conditions. Without specific build details for Lectron, Grasside presents a more robust physical profile for long-term outdoor use.
Charging Power
Edge: Tie
Both the Lectron and Grasside chargers deliver identical 9.6 kW of power output at 40 amps and 240 volts. This means they charge compatible J1772 electric vehicles at the same speed. Neither unit offers a higher wattage or faster charging rate than the other. You will see the same range addition per hour regardless of which brand you choose for this specific configuration. The performance is effectively tied when comparing raw electrical output and charging level capabilities.
Safety Certifications
Edge: Tie
Both units are ETL certified to UL-2594 standards, ensuring they meet rigorous safety requirements for EV charging. Lectron also holds FCC certification and Energy Star certification for efficiency. Grasside holds FCC certification and is rated IP65 for dust and water resistance. Both units are suitable for indoor and outdoor use due to their weather resistance ratings. Lectron adds an efficiency certification, while Grasside emphasizes its waterproof rating. Both meet the core safety standards required for reliable home charging.
Warranty Support
Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Grasside provides a 3-year professional care warranty and support team, offering a longer coverage period than typically found in this segment. Lectron does not list a specific warranty duration in the provided product data. A three-year warranty indicates manufacturer confidence in the unit's longevity and provides you with extended protection against defects. Without a stated warranty from Lectron, Grasside offers more defined long-term support security. This makes Grasside the safer choice for peace of mind regarding product lifespan.
Which Lectron or Grasside charger suits you
Drivers with long driveways needing reach
Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
The Grasside unit includes a 25-foot cable. This provides significantly more reach than the Lectron’s 16-foot cable. You can park further from the outlet and still connect easily. The extra length accommodates larger driveways or garages where the vehicle sits away from the wall. This spec makes installation more flexible for various home layouts.
Users wanting smart app and RFID control
Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Grasside offers a smart WiFi app for 2.4GHz networks. You can adjust current from 10 to 40 amps remotely. It also supports RFID card authentication and scheduling. Lectron does not list app or RFID features. If you want remote monitoring or restricted access, Grasside provides these controls directly through its interface and companion application.
Buyers preferring simple plug-and-charge operation
Our pick: Lectron 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Lectron focuses on straightforward charging without extra complexity. It lacks the app or RFID features found on Grasside. You simply plug the NEMA 14-50 connector into your outlet and charge. The 40-amp output delivers 9.6 kW consistently. This approach suits drivers who want a reliable, no-fuss device that works immediately without configuring settings or downloading software.
Lectron 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Best for: Drivers needing reliable 40A home charging
- Connector Type
- J1772
- Charging Level
- Level 2
- Amperage
- 40A
- Power Output
- 9.6 kW
- Power Plug
- NEMA 14-50
- Voltage
- 240V
This Lectron Level 2 EV charger delivers 9.6 kW of power at 240V and 40 amps. It uses a NEMA 14-50 plug for direct outlet connection and includes a 16-foot J1772 cable. The unit is ETL and Energy Star certified with IP65 weather resistance. You get fast charging for most electric vehicles without hardwiring. It suits drivers who need a reliable, portable home charging solution.
- 40A amperage provides up to 9.6 kW charging speed
- Includes a 16-foot cable for flexible parking
- ETL certified with overvoltage and short circuit protection
- IP65 rated for dust and water resistance
- 16-foot cable is shorter than the 25-foot cable on competing models
- Does not include a built-in app for remote monitoring
- You need a 40A Level 2 charger for fast home charging
- You want a portable unit with a standard NEMA 14-50 plug
- You prefer a certified charger with weather-resistant construction
- You require a cable longer than 16 feet
- You need an app-controlled charging experience
- You drive a Tesla without a J1772 adapter
Verdict: Lectron 40A Level 2 EV Charger offers solid 40A performance and safety certifications for drivers who prioritize reliability and portability over app features.
Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Best for: Smart home charging with app control
- Connector Type
- J1772
- Charging Level
- Level 2
- Amperage
- 40A
- Power Output
- 9.6kW
- Power Plug
- NEMA 14-50
- Cable Length
- 25FT
This Grasside unit delivers 9.6kW of power at 40A through a NEMA 14-50 plug and J1772 connector. It features a 25-foot cable and an ETL/UL certified metal case rated IP65 for indoor or outdoor use. The charger supports smart app control via 2.4GHz WiFi and includes a 3-year warranty. It suits drivers needing reliable home charging with flexible access controls.
- 40A output provides up to 9.6kW charging speed
- 25-foot cable length reaches most parked vehicles
- ETL/UL certified with IP65 waterproof rating
- Smart app allows stepless current adjustment from 10–40A
- Metal case and rubberized handle ensure durable build
- WiFi connectivity limited to 2.4GHz networks only
- Tesla vehicles require a separate J1772 to Tesla adapter
- Recommended to use non-GFCI outlets to avoid nuisance trips
- You need a 40A charger with a 25-foot cable
- You want smart app control for scheduling and monitoring
- You have a NEMA 14-50 outlet for easy installation
- You require 5GHz WiFi connectivity for app access
- You drive a Tesla without a J1772 adapter
- You need a charger with a longer than 25-foot cable
Verdict: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger fits drivers who prioritize smart app control and a durable metal build for home charging. It is a solid choice for those with NEMA 14-50 outlets who do not mind using a separate adapter for Tesla vehicles.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Lectron 40A Level 2 EV Charger | Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger |
|---|---|---|
| Connector Type | J1772 | J1772 |
| Charging Level | Level 2 | Level 2 |
| Amperage | 40A | 40A |
| Power Output | 9.6 kW | 9.6kW |
| Power Plug | NEMA 14-50 | NEMA 14-50 |
| Voltage | 240V | – |
| Cable Length | 16 ft | 25FT |
| Connectivity | – | 2.4GHz WiFi |
| IP Rating | – | IP65 |
| Size | 40A NEMA 14-50 | 40 |
| Color | Black | Black |
| Model | LCHG-14-50-40A-BLK-US | NECS-ACW-9.6-1-US-3028 Button Version |
Frequently asked questions
Which EV charger is better for app control, Lectron or Grasside?
The Grasside unit is the better choice if you want smart features. It includes app control capabilities that allow you to manage charging schedules remotely. The Lectron 40A model focuses on basic reliability and does not offer these digital connectivity options. You should pick Grasside for remote management.
Does the Lectron charger work with Tesla vehicles?
The Lectron charger uses a J1772 connector, which is the standard for most electric vehicles. It does not include a Tesla adapter. You will need to purchase a separate adapter to connect it to Tesla vehicles. Grasside also uses a J1772 connector and requires an adapter for Tesla cars.
What is the difference in cable length between these two chargers?
Grasside includes a 25-foot cable, while Lectron comes with a 16-foot cable. The extra nine feet on the Grasside unit gives you more flexibility in parking. This is helpful if your vehicle is parked further from your power outlet. The longer cable reduces the need to drag the cord across the ground.
Do both chargers require a NEMA 14-50 outlet?
Yes, both the Lectron and Grasside 40A chargers use a NEMA 14-50 plug. You need a compatible outlet to use either device at their full 40-amp capacity. These outlets are common in residential garages and driveways. You cannot plug them into standard household outlets for Level 2 charging.
Is the Grasside charger built with metal or plastic?
The Grasside charger features a durable metal build. This construction provides robust protection for the internal components. Lectron’s design is not specified as metal in the data. The metal housing on the Grasside unit may offer better resistance to weather and physical impact for outdoor use.
Which charger is better for drivers who prioritize portability?
Lectron is the better option if you value portability and simplicity. It offers solid 40-amp performance without the added weight or complexity of smart features. The Grasside unit is heavier due to its metal build and includes a longer cable. Choose Lectron for a lighter, straightforward charging solution.




