Skip to content
Subscribe
Ev Chargers

EMPORIA or Grasside? Ev Chargers Compared in 2026

Compare EMPORIA and Grasside EV chargers by published specs. We analyze amperage, cable length, and smart features to help you select the best Level 2 unit for your needs.

We score every product on its specifications, its current price and what owners report after living with it. We may earn a commission from links on this page.

EMPORIA or Grasside? Ev Chargers Compared in 2026

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

When you compare EMPORIA vs grasside ev charger options, both units offer Level 2 charging with J1772 connectors and 25-foot cables. They share smart WiFi capabilities for remote management. The main difference lies in power delivery and installation. The EMPORIA model provides 48 amps via a hardwired connection, while the Grasside unit delivers 40 amps through a NEMA 14-50 plug. You need to decide which amperage and installation method fit your garage setup.

Amperage

48 A

40 A

Power Plug

Hardwired

NEMA 14-50

Voltage

240 V

240 V

Certification

UL listed, ENERGY STAR

ETL/UL listed, IP65 rated

App Control

2.4 GHz WiFi

2.4 GHz WiFi, RFID, Plug-and-Charge

Choose the first if

  • You want the highest available charging speed at 48 amps for faster range addition.
  • You prefer a permanent hardwired installation that eliminates loose plugs.
  • You value ENERGY STAR certification alongside UL listing for energy efficiency.

Choose the second if

  • You need a plug-in solution using a standard NEMA 14-50 outlet for easy setup.
  • You want physical buttons for amperage adjustment alongside app control.
  • You require RFID card access or Plug-and-Charge modes for user management.

Verdict

Choose the EMPORIA if you prioritize maximum charging speed and a permanent hardwired connection. Select the Grasside if you need the flexibility of a NEMA 14-50 plug and additional access controls like RFID cards. Both provide reliable Level 2 charging for most North American EVs.

EMPORIA vs Grasside EV Charger Specs

Maximum Amperage

Edge: EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger

The EMPORIA charger delivers a higher maximum current of 48 amps. This allows for faster energy transfer to compatible vehicles compared to the Grasside unit, which tops out at 40 amps. Both are Level 2 chargers operating at 240 volts. The 8-amp difference means the EMPORIA can add range more quickly during a charging session. If your vehicle supports high-amperage charging, the EMPORIA provides a tangible speed advantage. The Grasside is sufficient for many daily needs, but the EMPORIA offers greater peak power capacity.

Installation Type

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Installation requirements differ significantly between these two units. The EMPORIA is a hardwired unit, requiring professional installation to connect directly to your home’s electrical panel. This offers a clean, permanent look but adds complexity. The Grasside features a NEMA 14-50 plug, allowing for plug-in installation into a compatible outlet. This makes setup easier for homeowners who already have the correct outlet, though it requires a 50-amp circuit breaker. The Grasside offers more flexibility for DIY-friendly setups.

Smart App Control

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Both chargers support 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for remote management via mobile apps. The Grasside app offers stepless amperage control, letting you adjust the current anywhere from 10 to 40 amps. You can also set specific schedules and monitor real-time data. The EMPORIA allows you to schedule sessions and view energy data, but the data does not specify stepless amperage adjustment through its interface. The Grasside provides more granular control over charging parameters directly through its smart platform.

Certifications and Safety

Edge: EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger

Safety certifications vary between the two brands. The EMPORIA holds UL listing and ENERGY STAR certification, meeting standards like NEC 625 and UL 817. The Grasside is ETL listed to UL-2594 standards and CSA-C22.2 No. 280. Both meet rigorous safety requirements for electric vehicle charging. The EMPORIA’s ENERGY STAR designation suggests efficiency focus, while the Grasside’s ETL listing confirms compliance with North American safety codes. Both are suitable for safe home use, with the EMPORIA holding an additional efficiency certification.

Build and Durability

Edge: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

The Grasside charger features a metal case and a heavy-duty rubberized charging handle, designed for long-term reliability and wear resistance. It is rated IP65 waterproof, making it suitable for both indoor and outdoor installations. The EMPORIA data lists color options but does not specify the material composition or an IP rating for weather resistance. The Grasside’s explicit weatherproof rating and metal construction provide clearer assurance for outdoor garage or driveway use compared to the unspecified build details of the EMPORIA.

Choose the right EV charger for you

Users needing maximum charging speed

Our pick: EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger

The EMPORIA charger offers 48 amps of power. This higher amperage delivers faster charging speeds than the Grasside unit. You get up to 46 miles of range per hour. The hardwired connection ensures a stable 240V supply. If you want the quickest possible charge times for your vehicle, this higher output is the key specification to consider.

Users preferring plug-in installation

Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

The Grasside charger uses a NEMA 14-50 plug. This allows for easy installation without hardwiring. You simply connect it to a compatible 50A circuit breaker. The unit includes built-in GFCI protection for safety. If you want a setup that avoids professional electrical work and offers plug-and-charge convenience, this plug-in design fits your needs.

Users wanting adjustable current control

Our pick: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

The Grasside app lets you adjust charging current from 10 to 40 amps. You can set specific amperage levels via the screen or app. This stepless control helps optimize charging for off-peak rates. The EMPORIA model does not list adjustable amperage in its specs. If you need fine-tuned control over your charging speed, this feature is essential.

1
EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger

EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger

Best for: fast charging and smart scheduling for J1772 EVs

Connector Type
SAE J1772
Charging Level
Level 2
Amperage
48 A
Power Plug
Hardwired
Voltage
240 V
Cable Length
25 ft

The EMPORIA 48A Level 2 EV Charger delivers up to 46 miles of range per hour via a hardwired 240V connection. It features a 25-foot cable and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for scheduling sessions. This UL listed unit suits drivers seeking fast charging speeds and smart management for J1772-compatible vehicles.

Pros
  • 48A amperage provides up to 46 miles of range per hour
  • 25-foot cable length offers flexible placement
  • 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi enables remote scheduling and data monitoring
  • UL listed and ENERGY STAR certified for safety
Cons
  • Hardwired installation requires professional setup
  • Limited to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connectivity
  • Fixed 25-foot cable length restricts outlet placement
Good fit if
  • You need fast Level 2 charging for a J1772 vehicle
  • You want to schedule charging sessions via Wi-Fi
  • You prefer a hardwired installation for permanent mounting
Skip if
  • You require a NEMA 14-50 plug for easy installation
  • You own a Tesla with a NACS port
  • You need a cable longer than 25 feet

Verdict: EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger fits drivers who prioritize high amperage and smart scheduling for their J1772 vehicles. It is ideal for those willing to have a professional install a permanent, high-speed charging station.

2
Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger

Best for: Outdoor charging with smart app management

Connector Type
J1772
Charging Level
Level 2
Amperage
40A
Power Output
9.6kW
Power Plug
NEMA 14-50
Cable Length
25FT

This Grasside unit delivers 9.6kW of power at 40A through a 25-foot J1772 cable. It plugs into a standard NEMA 14-50 outlet, avoiding the need for hardwiring. You can control the charge via a smartphone app or physical buttons. The metal case and IP65 rating make it suitable for outdoor use. It is a solid choice for drivers who want reliable, smart charging without complex installation.

Pros
  • 40A output provides 9.6kW charging speed
  • 25-foot cable reaches most parked vehicles
  • Smart app control with stepless current adjustment
  • ETL/UL certified with IP65 weather resistance
Cons
  • 40A amperage is lower than the 48A option available
  • Requires 2.4GHz WiFi only for app connectivity
  • NEMA 14-50 plug may cause nuisance trips on GFCI outlets
Good fit if
  • You have a 50A circuit breaker and NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • You want to manage charging schedules from your phone
  • You need a weather-resistant charger for outdoor use
Skip if
  • You require the maximum 48A charging speed
  • Your home WiFi only supports 5GHz networks
  • You prefer a hardwired installation over a plug-in design

Verdict: Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger fits drivers who value smart app control and a long 25-foot cable for easy reach. It is ideal for those with existing NEMA 14-50 outlets who do not need the higher speed of a 48A unit.

Specifications side by side

SpecEMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV ChargerGrasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger
Connector TypeSAE J1772J1772
Charging LevelLevel 2Level 2
Amperage48 A40A
Power Output–9.6kW
Power PlugHardwiredNEMA 14-50
Voltage240 V–
Cable Length25 ft25FT
Connectivity2.4 GHz Wi-Fi2.4GHz WiFi
IP Rating–IP65
SizeHardwired J1772 (WH)40
ColorWhiteBlack
Model–NECS-ACW-9.6-1-US-3028 Button Version

Frequently asked questions

Can I plug the Grasside charger into a standard outlet?

No, the Grasside 40A Level 2 EV Charger requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet. It does not include a power plug that fits standard household sockets. You must have this specific high-power outlet installed by an electrician to use it safely and effectively.

Does the EMPORIA charger come with a cable?

Yes, the EMPORIA 48A Hardwired Level 2 EV Charger includes a 25-foot cable. The connector type is J1772, which is standard for most electric vehicles. The cable length provides ample reach from the wall-mounted unit to your vehicle's charging port.

Is hardwiring better than using a plug?

Hardwiring offers a more permanent and secure connection. The EMPORIA model is hardwired directly into your home’s electrical system. This eliminates the need for an external plug and outlet, reducing potential points of failure and keeping the installation tidy.

How fast does the 48A charger add range?

The EMPORIA 48A charger delivers up to 46 miles of range per hour. This higher amperage allows for faster energy transfer compared to lower amp units. It is ideal for drivers who need to replenish their battery quickly between uses.

Can I control both chargers from my phone?

Yes, both units support Wi-Fi connectivity for smart scheduling and remote management. You can monitor charging status and adjust settings via a mobile app. This feature allows you to optimize charging times based on your electricity rates or schedule.

What color options are available for these chargers?

The EMPORIA charger is available in white. The Grasside unit comes in black. These color choices allow you to match the charger to your garage or driveway aesthetic. Both units are designed for outdoor use with durable construction.

Do I need a professional for installation?

Yes, both chargers require professional installation. The EMPORIA model needs hardwiring into your electrical panel. The Grasside model requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet to be installed by a licensed electrician. Proper installation ensures safety and compliance with local electrical codes.

See also

EE

Written by

EvenRate Editorial Team

We compare portable power stations using manufacturer specifications and Amazon product data.

See all reviews by EvenRate Editorial Team

Our newsletter

The good stuff, once a week

New reviews, honest price checks, and the things we tell our own families to buy.